3 down, 2 to go…

Hey there y’all. As I sit here and wait for Tom to reply to the text I’ve just sent him asking if he can give me a lift back from the cold cold room that is the SUCS room, I am typing this blog to you. I’ve just come out of Dining Room B of Fulton house and of my third exam, Functional Programming I, which involves the lovely language known as Haskell. Of course you can tell from the tone in my voice that I actually mean that Haskell is annoying in the fact that I haven’t got a clue how to write it properly or get a good mark in it. However, I think I answered the questions enough to get me 20 marks which was 40% of the paper – the amount needed to pass the module.

Not much else really to tell you about. One thing I could tell you about, but then I would have to kill you, is DJ’s fascinating ability to be the most distracting person in the world and the person I am voting never to revise again with. Recently I have been finding myself going to the University Library most days to escape the distractions at home such as my games consoles, the computer, the internet and the TV. But DJ was feeling left out one day and wanted to come with, so I let him. Subsequently we ended up trying to digitalise time. If the French couldn’t do it, what possible reasoning do you think he had that 4 Swansea Students possibly could. Having said that we must have got to the same point as the French did, because it did waste a couple of hours and we did get quite far. We even went so far as to make up new names for the time increments such as gina (the second) kilogina (a minute) corange (an hour). But as the French probably found out, you cannot change the amount of days there are in a year, and that number is 365. It does not fit nicely into multiples of 10. Or 100 for that matter. And without the one sacrifice of having 365 days in a year, it is not possible. Although it does beg the question as to whether time is imperial or not in the first place.

Right I’m now starting to take bets as to how many exams I’ll have to resit in the summer. Odds are on for all of the ones I’ve taken so far and the ones I am about to sit. According to the table below I’ve got two left. And looking at what they are, it’s not going to be a pleasant rest of the month. TTFN.

~ by shepherdnick on January 23, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
