So stressed..

Lab Widescreen

I think this is the point in my life that I will remember as being one of the most stressful. As my father quite rightly said, “Son, this is probably the most important 6 months of your life so far”. Last term I found was incredibly stressful. Not that the work we were doing was as difficult as the last term of Level 2 (or even the whole of Level 2!) it’s just that there was so much of it. I must have been working right up until the last day of term with various amounts of coursework, and that doesn’t include project work! I think I counted that at one point I was in Uni every day (including weekends) for 19 days. If that wasn’t bad enough, I’ve had to write another dissertation over Christmas (which I ‘accidentally’ left until last week) and I have four exams to do in the next two weeks (the first of them being in less than 12 hours time).

All of that pressure meant that I don’t think I enjoyed or relaxed enough from last term over Christmas, so I’m still feeling a bit tired, and very very stressed. Seriously, if I didn’t think I was losing my hair from genetics, it would be from stress. I can’t wait to start the new term because I will only have 3 modules, which means only 3 exams, so in theory this will be an easier term. Well that’s done it now, hasn’t it? No way is it going to be easier now I’ve said it😛

As far as Christmas was concerned, I actually did have a good one. I had a massive haul (thank you FC!) and also some monies for my birthday and Christmas from relatives and parents. I’ve been contemplating buying an iPod touch with the money I have ever since I fell in love with one the first time I really got to play with one. I don’t know what it is about portable web browsers, but I seem to have some sort of fascination with them. I mean I asked for the Internet Browser for the DS for Christmas last year, but it really isn’t worth the price tag they give it. I love it any way. And I guess that this fascination also explains my latest purchase (and partly because the deal was great!), a Nokia 6120 on three with free skype, Windows Live Messenger and Yahoo Messenger wherever I am, and all for £15 a month I get 300 texts or anytime calls. See what I mean now? I couldn’t really avoid a deal like that. The hardware is uber cute – apparently it’s Nokia’s smallest handset that is classed as a smartphone. My first experience with 3G network is also impressive. So much so that I’ve spent so much money already on browsing the ‘net wherever I am (don’t worry I stopped being silly and added an Internet add-on, so it doesn’t cost me too much). But it now means I’ve got GMail, Google Maps, twibble and loads of other apps wherever I am. I love it so! (Almost too much, as I am starting to doubt whether to buy an iPod touch or not!).

Man, I can’t wait until these exams are over, and to be honest I can’t wait until I’ve graduated and have started earning disposable income. I also can’t wait to save up enough money to go traveling. It’s a bit scary that at this point in my educational life I still have no idea what I want to do for a career, or even if I actually want a career. All I know is, if I had learned to drive when I was 17, I would have been driving for 6 years by now. That scares me a little.

Well, I must go now, time for a good night’s sleep (yeah right!) before the first day of exams starts.

P.S. Hope you like the image🙂 I took it using my new phone camera panorama view thing – a bit blurry but not bad🙂

~ by shepherdnick on January 14, 2008.

3 Responses to “So stressed..”

  1. “Man, I can’t wait until these exams are over, and to be honest I can’t wait until I’ve graduated and have started earning disposable income.”
    Mike and I are the same🙂 And to think, last year I didn’t want to leave lol. Had any thoughts about where you want to go after Uni? I’ll probably stay here for a bit (some of the flats in town look cute in a tacky laminate floored, open plan kind of way ^_^)…

    It sucks you had so much work to do over Christmas! Will next term be a bit better? Hopefully, given we have to do more project work. Not looking forward to interim at all.

    We should do a CS thing after the exams again though🙂

    P.S. your new phone sounds cool🙂 I’m very jealous. Mine can’t get skype and Dad doesn’t think it’d be a good idea (cost wise lol) if it could😦

  2. Well I think after I’ve finished I’ll probably move back home for a bit (to try and save some money, learn how to drive etc.) and I really want to go travelling around the world. No idea how I’m going to do that yet, but my uncle works for BA so I might be able to get some info/cheaper tickets from him. The next couple of years I don’t think I’ll be looking for a career type job, mostly IT related, but that can be flexible with giving me time off to travel.

    This term definitely should be better because I have only 3 modules! But I do have two dissertations to finish😦 (I’m actually looking forward to getting stuck into the History of Computation one, going to be a labour of love I think).

    CS-type thing will be fun after exams🙂 Markus was talking to a few of us about how amazed he is that no-one ever plans anything big for after the graduation ceremony, especially in Comp Sci. So maybe some plans/thoughts should be shared on the forum about maybe doing something to celebrate!

    I love my new phone so much! :3 only it’s being weird with Twitter at the moment, and every text I send costs me 25p (like you said) so I don’t want to mess around with it.

  3. Aw travelling?! That’d be cool🙂 I hope you get to do that. I can’t imagine trying to get a career type job yet either. I’m not sure what kind of jobs there are out there for a start…

    So lucky only having 3 modules, and you’re good at writing looong essays/reports etc. so those dissertation should be a breeze😛 Which modules are you taking btw?

    I’, quite amazed at that too. Going out after exams is one thing, but not doing something after graduation seems kinda :S. Mention it on the forum! I’m sure jonface would be up for it (seen his recent thread?)🙂

    I was going to message them, but apparently I need to have my account number, which dad has lol. I’ll do it tomorrow or something. I don’t understand why it’s 25p when it’s +44 to be honest. If only twitter talked to MSN & Y!IM.

Leave a Reply

 
