All Time Top 5 Greatest Video Games (Level 2)

Okay, so I was thinking that maybe all of the honourable mentions of the other day were missing a few siblings. So after having thought of more, I will present their cases here too:

  • Pokemon Diamond/Pearl (Nintendo DS)
    Pokemon seems a kind of mainstream and bandwaggon-y choice to make, but I can back this choice up with explaining that I knew about the Pokemon game about a year before it was even released in this country. I had a friend whos family were much better off than mine, and used to go to Disney world in Florida every year, and one year he brought back this game in a blue GameBoy cartridge called simply, Pokemon: Blue Edition. It was a very intruiging game and we spent much of the summer holidays playing it. Then about a year later, the Pokemon craze was upon the nation, and I was able to get my hands on my own copy.

    Pokemon was a craze that I fully jumped into, and it’s only since coming to Uni I’ve realised how complex the games are, especially from a computer science point of view. One visit to http://www.serebii.net and you can see what lengths people have to go to to calculate stats for their Pokemon. I’ve mentioned the newest Pokemon games because in the entire series, these games remind me the most about why I loved the original games, and gave it a fresh take. With the right training in the right areas, a team of lower level Pokemon could easily beat Pokemon trained on brute force.
    Metacritic score: Pokemon Diamond: 85

  • Rollercoaster Tycoon (PC)
    It seemed weird that I hadn’t mentioned an RTS game in my list of fav’s and I seem to remember this being a game that I played so much. I loved setting up the theme parks, and then watching them grow, with enough money I could then build rollercoasters of my very own. This game had such cute graphics, and was so pixel perfect. Being able to build your own coasters always seemed to be the best thing about the game, but now I think about it, my sister enjoyed the game probably the same amount I did, and it was the competitiveness we shared that probably made the game as good as I remember.
    Metacritic score: Rollercoaster Tycoon: Loop Landscapes: 80

  • Theme Hospital (PC)
    Not one mention of one, and then two come along at once! Yes, it was Lizzy‘s post that reminded me of how I always seem to come back to this game – say every two years – and for the short amount of time I play it I am completely besotted with it. This game is sooo addictive😀 But something else I realised; I’ve probably never completed it. I seem to get to the last two or penultimate levels and then give up, or something else comes along and distracts me. I love this game.
    GameRankings.com score: Theme Hospital: 73

~ by shepherdnick on May 29, 2008.

3 Responses to “All Time Top 5 Greatest Video Games (Level 2)”

  1. I can’t believe I forgot about Theme Hospital! What a fantastic game😀

  2. 😀 I’m hooked on Pearl again!

  3. There are so many game I want to play at the moment… it sucks only being physically capable of playing one!

Leave a Reply

 
