Wishlist Update

So I’ve been thinking for a while about making or updating a wish list, with the chance I might actually be earning some disposable income in the near future. If you have any of these things, please feel free to persuade or dissuade me from buying any of them.

iPod touch
I’ve really really really wanted one of these since they’ve been released last year. Using them they seem like the most useful PDA that I would actually use. Don’t get me wrong, Windows mobile is fine for what it does, but has never seemed to have that edge that Apple seem to have made with the iPhone/iPod touch interface. It’s fun to use, as well as being practical, and the consumer demand for them (in much the same way as the Wii has created the opportunity for shovelware) has made the homebrew and jailbreaking software voluminous, but from lots of the apps I have seen, they are either useful, or are pretty fun little games. How cool is Peggle going to be on it?

I do have some things holding me back about actually purchasing one though, and they are that there might be a second version coming out soon, and I don’t know whether to wait; also that it doesn’t have a speaker so I can’t listen to videos or music without having headphones plugged in; also that I’d love the touch to have a camera like the iPhone, but I guess it’s primary function is to be just an iPod. I don’t really want an iPhone at the moment – I have many months left on my contract phone, and I actually like that handset.

Playstation 3

Now I know lots of people have their reservations about this console, and that it’s too powerful and expensive to be worth anything, when there are many more affordable machines on the market. But I had a PSX, a PS2 and I loved them both. Sony also have a tendency to have a longer shelf life for their consoles than other systems – the PSX and PS2 both lasted for about 10 years, and I expect the PS3 to last that long too. In the short space of time that it has been out, the multi-format games released on both the PS3 and XBox 360 definitely looked and performed better on the 360, but we’re getting to the stage now where there doesn’t seem to be much difference between them (take GTA IV for example).

Plus the fact, I am an absolutely massive Metal Gear Solid fan, and you can’t help but have seen something around the ‘net about the upcoming fourth game in the series. I really want to play this game!! There are a few other titles I would want to play too – like Little Big Planet, Ratchet and Clank, God of War 3 (inevitably). And of course an HD powered machine wouldn’t be complete without a new HD TV

HD TV
I kinda have some idea of the technology behind HD screens, but I just have no idea what is good value for money, who make the best ones or what I am looking for. If any of you have any decent links or guides to buying a new HD TV, then let me know please! I’d obviously want to get an awesome sound system to go along with it.

Playstation Portable (PSP)
The games on this little console appear to be quite cheap now. Especially the original ones that I would want to play, like echochrome, Lumines, Loco Roco, and Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops etc. And you know, I love my games😀

iMac/Macbook/New PC
These days, I always seem to be surrounded by something running the OS X operating system, and I would be foolish if I said I didn’t find it all intriguing and interesting, and that I want a go myself. I just don’t know what would be best for me to buy at the moment. I could completely avoid the Apple products and buy a completely new beast of a PC, but when I think about it, I don’t really play many PC games any more. There is Spore however, but that’s coming out on the Mac as well. Hmm – Mac guys – how would you sell this to me, rather than buying a new PC? Sell it to me!

I think that’s enough of my imaginary money spent for one post, if I think of anything else I’ll be sure to post it in the blogs to come, and if you have anything you might think I would want to buy, please feel free to tell me😀

A scooter might be fun :3

~ by shepherdnick on May 31, 2008.

7 Responses to “Wishlist Update”

  1. I have been thinking of doing this too, but I think I will have to wait till my Job is paying more than minimum wage though before I get too excited about all the possible gadgets I can buy

  2. I want a PS3, that way I’ll have the world’s cheapest Blu-Ray player. Oh, and I can play Ratchet and Clank😀

  3. Tom: I have to actually _get_ a job first😀 At least you are part of the way there!

    Kat: You have an HDTV right? What one did you get? How do you go about finding out if it’s good or not?

  4. the itouch is deffinatly worth it mind🙂 , but then when you see an iphone it does kinda put mr touch to shame….

    But jailbreaking and apps absolutely pwn… bar that the only crap bit is it scratches far easier than the phone😦

    ill sell you my psp if you want haha.. one downside is i need to replace the analogue system and its in nicht so gudt condition😦

    anyway, was just reading cos its been a long time no read😉

  5. Yeah, we have a 32″ Sammy. Mike looked at loads of stuff online, reviews on forums, ebuyer and that, then went through about 4 TVs before settling for the Samsung, sending them back under the 10day not liking it thing (with ebuyer) or 28days with fault (some were faulty😦 ). It took like a month or two, and he’s still not really happy with the one we have, but that can be fixed with an HDMI 360 (colours are a little washed out over VGA apparently).

  6. I want them all but I can’t afford them😦

  7. I can’t wait to purchase a MBP!

Leave a Reply

 
