A New Chapter Begins

A new chapter in lots of ways begins for me very shortly. After feeling very very depressed and lonely from the horrible, desolate and empty experience that is job hunting without having a job first, I am happy to tell you that I was offered both of the jobs that I recently had interviews for. I had come home to Pontypool, which I was intending on staying in for a long time (at least until I found a job) because it was proving difficult living and supporting myself in Swansea. There would be no way I could afford any rent on jobseekers’s allowance. But instead this week I found myself having to make a difficult but pleasant decision. Was I going to take one job or the other. There seems there is only one way to go about deciding: making a budget and list of pro’s and con’s.

I eventually decided to keep the job that I was offered in Swansea on the basis that I wouldn’t have to commute, and thus save some money, and also I really need to decide if I can do the whole “Software Development” part of the industry, and whether I like it or not – the only way to understand if I can do that is to actually do it. So for the time being I’m going to be giving that a shot. And who knows, it might even be a step forward into going into games development.  I still ultimately have no idea what I want to do with my life, but having seen the photos from places that DJ has visited I still really want and need to go traveling.  He loves Australia so much that he’s living there for a year.  Now that can’t be a bad experience can it?

I have a month left in my current lodgings in Swansea and I hope that this is enough time for me to sort out a new place.  A couple of weeks ago, Rich and I went to see some apartments on the marina, and although they are a little bit more pricey than some of the other houses and flats available in Swansea, the rent isn’t completely unreasonable.  What with the economy and house prices as they are at the moment, it seems renting seems to be a good option.  I can’t stop thinking about the place.

To finish up then, I start this new job on Monday, and I’ll be sure to let you know how I’m getting on.  Well done to some other people I know for getting the job too🙂

~ by shepherdnick on July 2, 2008.

2 Responses to “A New Chapter Begins”

  1. Nice one Nick!!!!
    Let us know how you get on .
    Cheers
    Stuart

  2. Congratulations on getting a job too nick. Perhaps when you get a place that doesnt look like its going to fall down we might come visit. Until then, get your arse to Cardiff!

Leave a Reply

 
